Shared chief digital officer plan receives support of Scottish councils

Some 26 out of Scotland’s 32 local authorities have joined a strategy that will bring digital services under a single chief digital officer role…

Under new plans, Scotland’s local authorities could see their digital services brought under one key figure. A total of 26 out of 32 elected local councils have already agreed to a joint strategy that will support digital service transformation. This will be led by a single chief digital officer.

The shared approach to digital services will see collaborative funding of a digital team over a three year period.

Initial aims of the plan will focus on organisation and setting out a standard approach to digital services across Scottish local government. The chief digital officer, who has yet to be recruited, will communicate key transformation aims, while supporting the implementation of the strategy across local authorities.

It is expected the salary for the position will be in excess of £100,000, and applications must be received by 16 June.

The notice stated: “[The digital officer] will also build a wider virtual team working with regional level collaborations as well as working well with our partners – Scottish Government, Scotland Excel, SEEMiS, NHS NSS, Improvement Service and SOCITM.”

The recruitment notice added: “The strategy is aimed at all leaders in councils; helping them understand the opportunities that digital technology provides and how services can be redesigned.

“This includes chief executives and politicians, professional bodies, directors and heads of service, so that they understand what they need to do to transform their service and wider partnership and build an organisational culture that supports digital competence.”

Councils set to participate in the venture so far include:

– Aberdeen City Council

– Aberdeenshire

– Angus Council

– Argyll & Bute

– Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

– Dumfries & Galloway

– Dundee

– East Ayrshire

– East Dunbartonshire

– East Lothian

– East Renfrewshire Council

– Falkirk

– Fife

– Glasgow

– Highland Council

– Midlothian

– North Ayrshire

– North Lanarkshire

– Orkney Islands Council

– Perth & Kinross

– Renfrewshire

– South Ayrshire Council

– South Lanarkshire

– Stirling

– West Dunbartonshire

– West Lothian


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here