22 countries sign European Blockchain Partnership declaration at Digital Day 2018

European Blockchain Partnership

The European Commission’s Digital Day 2018 has led to the signing of a Declaration to create a European Blockchain Partnership made of up 22 countries, according to a European Commission (EC) press release

During the Digital Day speech, the EC Vice-President Frans Timmermans called on Europe to become a leader in digital technologies by working on Blockchain innovation as well as artificial intelligence (AI) development.

The press release reads that the European Blockchain Partnership will be a ‘vehicle for cooperation amongst Member States to exchange experience and expertise in technical and regulatory fields and prepare for the launch of EU-wide [Blockchain] applications across the Digital Single Market for the benefit of the public and private sectors.’

Commenting on the potential for Blockchain technology to be integrated into existing industry, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society Mariya Gabriel, said: “In the future, all public services will use [Blockchain] technology. Blockchain is a great opportunity for Europe and Member States to rethink their information systems, to promote user trust and the protection of personal data, to help create new business opportunities and to establish new areas of leadership, benefiting citizens, public services and companies.”

The topic of regulation for Blockchain technology was also addressed, which stated that the European Blockchain Partnership will ‘contribute to the creation of an enabling environment, in full compliance with EU laws and with clear governance models that will help services using [Blockchain] flourish across Europe.’

The participating states that have signed the Declaration for the European Blockchain Partnership are as follows: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the UK. The press release adds that other members of the EU and the European Economic Area are also invited to join.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here